The Bayview Corner of today bears a remarkable resemblance to the historic Corner of the late 1920s. It’s our history that gives us character, our present that gives us joy, and our future that gives us hope —hope that the South Whidbey way of life can continue to be steeped in tradition and grounded in a warm feeling of connectedness that we share. Life is different here! Away from the frenzied lifestyle “over town,” we can enjoy our island’s natural beauty and old-fashioned neighborly relationships, yet with modern conveniences.
Goosefoot is committed to preserving the rural traditions that help make life here just about perfect. Here’s a glimpse of how we’re doing it:
Restored the Bayview Cash Store, reinvigorating the community’s historic crossroads at Bayview Corner. With the goals of environmental integrity, economic development and community vitality, Goosefoot’s first task as a newly formed nonprofit organization was to restore Bayview Corner’s 1924 Cash Store, which actually was four buildings cobbled together over the years. Our efforts were rewarded when the South Whidbey Historical Society presented its inaugural Heritage Award to Goosefoot in recognition of our work on the Cash Store.
Restored and relocated the Sears House, a turn-of-the-century, catalog-ordered kit house which now serves as Goosefoot’s administrative office. The house, at risk of demolition, was moved from the Greenbank Farm in 2001 and relocated on Goosefoot property across the street from Bayview Community Hall. The adjoining “Grimm Shed” was turned into an additional office space and joins the Sears House in a wooded, natural setting that fits in perfectly with the area’s traditional environment.
Set the wheels in motion for the redevelopment of Bayview Center. In 2006, Goosefoot finalized financing to revitalize the Bayview Center shopping center and surrounding property. We are committed to approaching this ambitious project with the same attention to rural preservation and historic traditions as we did with the Sears House and Bayview Cash Store ventures.
Swenson Farm Restoration. Uphill from the Cash Store, nestled among barns and outbuildings, this 1940s farmhouse was renovated by Goosefoot in 2004. Serving as a residential rental, occupants enjoy a stunning view of the “Bayview Valley” and Double Bluff.
Bayview Community Hall, was first built around 1880, located about 100 yards south of the current Bayview School. The community joined forces in 1927 to build Bayview Hall as we still know it today: a lively space for Saturday night dances, family celebrations and concerts. Goosefoot and Bayview Hall co-sponsor the annual Cool Bayview Nights Community Car Show and collaborate on other community events. Goosefoot provides septic service, additional parking, and has assisted with other improvements to support the Hall’s continued operation and contributions to the social life of the community.
Bayview School opened in 1886 with eight students. By 1909, a wooden school building was built and 71 students enrolled the following year. Closing its doors in 1942, Bayview School reopened in 1995 as an alternative high school, with a mission of education as personal, community and global transformation. Goosefoot has been honored to share the Bayview neighborhood with these talented students and educators, participating annually in their graduation ceremony by giving a gift to each graduating senior of a Swiss Army knife and a roll of duct tape (because you can build anything with those two items). In 2006, the first annual Goosefoot Founders Award was presented to a Bayview School graduate who best epitomizes the “community spirit of Bayview Corner.”
. Goosefoot and the South Whidbey Historical Society hosted “Stories as Told by Our Seniors,” a series of interviews in the fall of 2001. Four lively discussions were recorded and aired on KSER 90.7 FM in February of 2002: